Profile Picture

New user programming advise

Posted By fperugini 5 Years Ago
Hi All,

I am new to RightEdge and trading system development, but experienced with .NET development. I am learning to develop trading systems and would like some advise. For example, I would like to learn by trying to detect a High and Tight Flag pattern. I can probably figure out how to do this in a brute force fashion with C# code using bar data, but would like to know how to take advantage of the RightEdge API to facilitate pattern detection. For example, how can I detect a sideways consolidation pattern or a rising price trend within a defined period of time?

Would I use some of the built-in indicators or write my own?

Thanks,
-Frank
Posted Friday February 24 2012
Can anyone help?
phg
Supreme Being (48,659 reputation)Supreme Being (48,659 reputation)Supreme Being (48,659 reputation)Supreme Being (48,659 reputation)Supreme Being (48,659 reputation)Supreme Being (48,659 reputation)Supreme Being (48,659 reputation)Supreme Being (48,659 reputation)Supreme Being (48,659 reputation)
On something like this it is hard to know where to start. The devil is in the details: there are many places to start, lots of possible parameters and how much effort needs to be put into efficiency? It is certainly quite possible to do what you outline. You might eventually want it in the form of an indicator plugin but I would suggest developing it in the form of strategy code first.

For the pattern you are interested in you have access to all of the information you need in the NewBar event; mostly you just need access to 'recent' bars so you can compute relationships between them. Your best bet is to try to do some coding yourself and post some of it on this forum when you get stuck.

-Pete

See also Yahoo group about applying RE.

Pete,