Profile Picture

Considering switching to RightEdge: Will it support our use-cases?

Posted By LeftEdge 3 Years Ago

Considering switching to RightEdge: Will it support our use-cases?

Hi,

I'm with an emerging CTA trading US futures contracts.  I'm new to RightEdge, and we're considering whether it will work for us.  Here are a couple of use cases...  I wonder if someone can comment on some of my questions?  I know this is a big long post...  feel free to respond to as much or as little as you wish.  Any comments are appreciated!

UC1) Let's say we are running 20 intraday automated trading systems on a single symbol.  Let's call each one an "instance".  Each instance has its own entry and exit rules, and positions from one instance will frequently overlap with positions held by others. Furthermore, each instance may be using a different bar interval.  Maybe 3 instances run on 15 minute bars.  Maybe 5 instances run on 100-contract volume-bars.  Maybe 4 instances run on $1 range bars. Some instances use limit orders, others use market orders, others use stops, some use bracket orders to exit, others use trailing stops.  You get the idea.  So all 20 instances are on a single futures contract, and each instance needs to keep track of its own position, indicators, exit targets, etc.  And it's all on intraday or tick data, and all on the same futures symbol.  My questions here are: 

Q0) Can we code and backtest each instance independently, and at run-time decide which instances to turn on or turn off?  Does RE give us the UI and object model for this, or do we have to work this out ourselves?

Q1) Will we be tripping over ourselves trying to keep track of the positions and targets for each instance?  Or can RightEdge report to each instance only the market positions that belong to that instance?