Profile Picture

How is CurrentEquity calculated for short stock positions?

Posted By fxgirl 2 Years Ago

How is CurrentEquity calculated for short stock positions?

Hi there,

I'm new to the world of stocks and trying out RightEdge I stumbled over this issue which I just can't get my head around.

For any long-positions I completely understand that when for example buying 1000 units of a stock at 30.00 my used equity if margin is set to 1:1 for that long-trade is now 30000 USD. Now if the price drops to 29.00 it would be 29000 USD. And this works as expected in RE.

But with short positions (Short Margin for Symbol set to 0, but I also tried 100) I always get slightly different values when calling SystemData.CurrentEquity or SystemData.CurrentValueShort.

For example when I sell 1000 units of a stock at 30.00 my used equity is not 30000 USD but something different like 28500 USD.

I just can't figure out why this is, probably it's something about stocks I don't understand but I also couldn't find anything using google so far.

Hope for your help guys!

xoxo

FXGirl
Posted Tuesday May 26 2015
ah I found the reason. RightEdge does calculate P&L of the running trade into the equity value of long/short positions.

But it looks like it does not reevaluate the margin used at the close? So for example a long position of 1000 units going from 30.00 to 31.00 would require 1000$ more margin in the real world with 1:1 margin right?

Does RightEdge not consider this? If not why not?
Hi FXGirl,

If the Short Margin is set to 0, it defaults to 100%.

The current equity takes into account the unrealized profit or loss of open positions, so it fluctuates with the current price.  That's probably why you're seeing slightly different values.  You should see similar changes (though in the opposite direction) for long positions.

Does this help?

Thanks,
Daniel
fxgirl (5/26/2015)