Profile Picture

Backtesting strategies that require actual future contracts

Posted By lampalork 4 Months Ago

Backtesting strategies that require actual future contracts

Hi All,
I'm relatively new to RightEdge. I have searched the forum but i could not find exactly what i'm looking for. Sorry if i'm asking the obvious...
[Question 1] Backtesting for futures strategies like trend following (which typically work with average indicator like MA / EMA) is usually done on continuous future. As far as i understand, continuous futures time series have to be build outside of RightEdge or through a bespoke historical data retriever. Can someone confirm my understanding?

[Question 2] My second question is about backtesting strategies that require actual future contracts (e.g. typical case would be calendar spread). How would you go about implementing such a strategy in RightEdge? I can include all the actual future contracts as symbol when running my backtest but how do i determine which actual contract is the #1 or #2 contract depending on a given date and some predetermined roll-over rules, or more precisely how do i implement my strategy class since RightEdge work at the actual contract level rather at the meta level. One thing i like about RightEdge is that it is quite flexible/customizable; therefore, this can probably be done in a number of ways. Does anybody has experience with this? on pros/cons of various approaches?

Many thanks in advance.
Cheers,
Lamp'

Edited: Tuesday August 08 2017 by lampalork
AP
Forum Guru (89 reputation)Forum Guru (89 reputation)Forum Guru (89 reputation)Forum Guru (89 reputation)Forum Guru (89 reputation)Forum Guru (89 reputation)Forum Guru (89 reputation)Forum Guru (89 reputation)Forum Guru (89 reputation)
Posted Thursday August 10 2017