Profile Picture

an idea for faster data access

Posted By hairy_mug 9 Years Ago
There are now high-capacity very fast USB "thumb" drives; the models with "speed-boost" compatible on their specs.

Maybe the next version can take advantage of this for database files or "swap" file space?

I have a 4 gig myself and I know they have 8 gig units, which should be more than enough space.

...and they are much faster than your typical hard drive and CHEAP; $49 for 4 gig @ staples and I'm sure much cheaper on the web.

Just make sure it is "speed-boost" rated and it needs a USB 2.0 port also... 

Posted Wednesday May 28 2008
I don't see any reason why it couldn't be done now with SQL Server?  You can specify a file where the database resides.  Admittedly, I've never tried this before.

hairy_mug (5/28/2008)
There are now high-capacity very fast USB "thumb" drives; the models with "speed-boost" compatible on their specs.

Maybe the next version can take advantage of this for database files or "swap" file space?

I have a 4 gig myself and I know they have 8 gig units, which should be more than enough space.

...and they are much faster than your typical hard drive and CHEAP; $49 for 4 gig @ staples and I'm sure much cheaper on the web.

Just make sure it is "speed-boost" rated and it needs a USB 2.0 port also... 

I don't think SQL server will let you spec a "removable" drive for data

>> I've sort of moved away from SQL Server to MY SQL and I think I may try it there...

BTW, When Optimizing, Does RE access the data once from the datastore and keep it in memory? Or does it hit the datastore multiple times?

Walt